Skip links

Main navigation

Our NEW Biennial Program Awards

Leadership Award recipients will be announced later this winter. Program award winners will be announced at the Biennial Awards Luncheon, May 8, 2018 in Memphis. Join us!


We are thrilled to announce that we, through a staff and lay leader partnership, are ushering in some exciting changes to the Program Awards format for this year’s Biennial. You will notice in the descriptions within our guidelines, that there are far fewer program awards. Many more will make an appearance at the Professional Conference as we felt they would be better rewarded to the professionals who have a heavy hand in the creation and implementation of them and deserve recognition. The remaining Program Awards are paired with the existing leadership awards: The Morton L. Mandel Jewish Educational Leadership Award, The Frank L. Weil Awards and the Florence G.Heller Professional Award. We have also added two NEW “best of the best” awards. In addition, there will be a very exciting contest in 2018 through JWB Jewish Chaplains Council called A Song of Service.

What motivated these changes you ask? The need to focus on quality, not quantity, elevating the prestige and relevance of the awards in our field. These award winners will not be notified in advance. They will be announced at the awards luncheon to be held at the Biennial, May 6-8 in Memphis. We are looking forward to seeing you and your delegation there!Each JCC, YM-YWHA, or independent overnight camp may submit one (1) entry per Program Award. You may nominate as many leaders as you feel are deserving. Make sure to let your stakeholders know that everyone can nominate for the leadership awards. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to call and ask.To learn more about each award,

Kara Bierman, Lisie Gottdenker,
Mark Shapiro, Jeff Tuvlin, Robin Ballin
2018 Biennial Awards Committee